Skip to main content

Maria Baston - Chair of Governors

I have been involved in education for most of my working life as a teacher and governor of various schools, in both Primary and Secondary. The areas I have a special interest in are Safeguarding, Data and Performance Management.

David Savage - Vice Chair

Foundation Governor

Until my recent semi-retirement I was a partner in a firm of architects and surveyors and therefore have a wealth of experience in small business management plus professional building experience in my role as a chartered surveyor and chartered architectural technologist. I have very strong local connections having been born and brought up in the Parish of Morwenstow and indeed was a pupil at St Mark's School (where my father was Chair of governors at the time) and both my children and subsequently my grandchildren attended the school. I am also chairman of the local church's Patronal Festival committee which helps forge links between the school, church and the community.

Tara Sellars - Parent Governor

As a parent of two daughters who have attended St. Mark's and an English teacher at Budehaven. I absolutely believe that it is vital that every child, regardless of academic ability, has a right to feel happy and supported in school. I regularly visit our feeder primary schools to deliver English lessons and thoroughly enjoy this experience! I have been a teacher for nineteen years and have witnessed and been involved in numerous curriculum and policy changes in Education.

Hilary Rogers - Foundation Governor

I am the governor whose links with St Mark's stretch back over the longest period. Each week I volunteer in school to read with the Class 3 children. My links with a wide range of community organisations and with our local church mean that I can help connect the school with what is happening in Morwenstow.

Virginia Painter - Foundation Governor

Originally trained as a chef after leaving school and running a small restaurant in Bath. I lived in Somerset with my family for many years before moving to Cornwall with my husband 10 years ago. I have been a governor at St Mark's for nearly 2 years, previously I was a governor for 14 years at a co-educational secondary school in Somerset, where my two daughters were educated. I spent my childhood in Kenya but my family originally come from Devon and North Cornwall. We now live in Morwenstow and have a daughter living in Bude.

Miss Attwood - Staff governor

Vicki Morrison - Foundation Governor

I have lived in Morwenstow for 45 years, and my children and grandchildren attended St Mark's. I started the first pre-school group in Morwenstow about 35 years ago, and then worked in education for 30 years, specialising in working with children that have learning and behavioural needs. As a governor I have responsibility for EYFS and SEND.


Mrs Dawn Leighfield - Foundation Governor

Matt Payne - Foundation Governor

I am a Director at Trewin Design Architects with a strong design and technical background in the construction industry. Whilst taking a keen interest in Education and the workings of the school, my specific skill set is currently utilised as Chair of the Sites and Safety committee.

Nick Crooks - Parent Governor

Sharon Roberts - Foundation governor

Miss Nesham - Headteacher

Our current declaration of interest May 2018

Please download our current declaration of interest statement - May 2018

The Governors

What do governors do?

The governing body is responsible for ensuring good quality education in the school. It is involved in deciding the school's strategy for improvement so that its pupils learn most effectively and achieve the highest standards. The governing body is responsible for ensuring that the curriculum is delivered to, and received by, all pupils and is responsible for managing the school's budget and deciding spending priorities.

We have 11 governors made up of parents, staff and members of the local community. Each governor has a responsibility for key areas of school life. They make regular visits to the school during the year talking to staff and children. They are volunteers who help to manage all aspects of running our school.

These people are our governors

Local Authority appointed governor

Mrs Maria Baston - Chair of Governors and Safeguarding Governor

elected by the LEA

Term of Office ends 14/12/2020

Foundation Governors

Mr David Savage - Vice Chair

Mrs Sharon Roberts

Mrs Vicki Morrison

Mrs Hilary Rogers

Mr Matt Payne

Mrs V. Painter


Staff Governors

Miss Carol Nesham - Headteacher


Katy Zoeftig - Staff Governor

elected by staff

Term of Office ends 29/03/2020


Parent elected Governors

Ms Tara Harbut

Term of Office ends 18/07/2020


Mrs Alice O'Reilly

Term of Office ends 22/05/2020

Clerk to the Governors

Sue Joyner